Kaptain Keil – Ponderer Extraordinaire

A few random thoughts floating in cyberspace

Blogging 2.0 / 5

Well my experience with blogging so far seems to be fairly mediocre. At first what seemed so exciting and cool soon turned to a chore and something that I had to spend time trying to think about. The main problem: finding thoughts to blog that people would be interested in reading. Most of my thoughts are small trivial things that ordinary, self-respecting, people wouldn’t want to read. Trying to come up with ideas to talk about has made me realise how little I think about important matters in day to day life. Do I really spend my free-thinking time pondering about chinese food and how cheese just doesn’t seem to work into the equation? I thought I loved cheese with everything but I just can not imagine sweet ‘n’ sour pork with cheese. Well actually I can, and that seems to be the problem as these great worldly issues are what I think about. Sad.

Then I thought to myself … “Kaptain’, you dont need to blog about your thoughts. People may be interested in your day and what you get up to.” So I thought about my day and that just depressed me more. Lately I have been slowly emasculating myself by planning every detail of a wedding. At first you look at the bigger picture and it’s exciting but when you realise that all the ideas for the wedding (right down to the finer flower points) have come from you, and you start to think “my god! I’m a chick!”. So to distract myself from tedious wedding details I decided to immerse myself into a computer gaming world. Now for this escape from reality to succeed I realised that I needed to make it appealing to the “Boss”.

Enter Plan A: Get Amelia to enjoy computer games and play them so she cant complain when I play them.

Sounds simple enough, right? Wrong. You may be thinking “a chick that doesn’t play computer games wont just play any ol’ game just cause you plonk her done in front of it!”. And you’d be right, which is why I carefully selected a series of games that, because I know her so well and love her so very much, I knew she would enjoy them and thus be adequately distracted.

Step 1: His & Her PCs to ensure smooth gaming for all. Check.

Step 2: Buy awesome new games. Check.

So far this genius plan is working beautifully, a series of crime-solving CSI computer games to ensure that Amelia spends hours enjoying herself and freeing up time for me to do what I want. By now you may be asking (if you’re still reading) “What went wrong?” ? Well Karma went and shat all over my plans, thats what went wrong.

Step 3: Install awesome games on PCs and spend blissfull hours wasting our lives and hiding from further emasculation. 50% complete, please try again.

At this time the DVD/CD drive on Amelia’s PC decides to stop working. Of course it does. Why wouldn’t it? So Amelia spends the next few hours blissfully playing awesome games on my fully functioning PC while I search ebay for the perfect bomboniere to match my centrepieces.

Anyway, back to blogging. So far my feelings about blogging are mixed. I like the concept but am struggling to find interesting things to blog about, as you would realise as you’ve just read this blog :Þ

1 Comment»

  Neal wrote @

Love the post mate.. good luck.. sounds like you could pull off that plan but you just need to get that cd drive fixed..

Try downloading some bigfish games.. they seem to work for Tanya.


Leave a comment